I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Chainsaw!

I’ve been really worried lately. Luke may lose his job if the organization he works for doesn’t get their three-year accreditation like usual. They need an escape goat and since Luke is a supervisor now and the upper boss really dislikes him, we may be in trouble. I still haven’t found a job. It’s been six months since I quit the evil organization. I found out I’m not even rehirable there now after the investigation since I said that my manager wasn’t doing her job. That’s not the reason they gave of course but it’s really suspicious since before the investigation I was fine. I guess I would have been better lying my socks off but that’s just not how gram raised me. I’m worried that all the applications I’ve been turning in have been sunk because I’m getting a bad reference from the evil org.

I’ve applied for the town library at least 20 times in the past four years and I’ve only ever been interviewed once and that was on my 2nd application or so. I received a notification in my e-mail that I was passed up again for another position there. A few weeks ago I applied for Elis library at Mizzou, I hope to at least receive an interview. In an interview I know for sure I fail when I don’t get the job where as without the interview I’m not even given a chance to fail.

Today I applied for front desk at a hotel, a pharmacy tech, and a personal banker position. I hope to hear back from something but it just isn’t looking good. If he loses his job I don’t know what we will do. It’s hard enough surviving when we are paying for supplies and food for four instead of three. If he loses his job only one of us in our house will be trying to support all of us and it will not be good.

On a happier note. We are now the proud growers of 3 Tomatoes, 1 Jalapeno, and 1 Begonia plant. They look so pretty in their new little pots. When the tomatoes and jalapeno plant start producing I’ll be half way to fresh salsa! The Begonia is just for looks of course.

I also to my anger out on the ugly and half dead tree-bush that was in front of our duplex. The psychotic neighbor that told our landlord we’d put up Halloween decorations and thought we were Satan worshipers was the brilliant mind behind its hideous growth. I suppose she thought she’d shape it like some fancy Japanese little tree which it is not, instead of a shrub. She trimmed all the bottom of it and left the top branched out. It looked bloody ridiculous. The top half died over the winter but it still sprouted lovely shrub shaped growth from its roots this spring.

Unfortunately we had this lovely shrub with this huge hideous dead tree looking thing growing out of it. We don’t really have any garden tools and the trunk was as big around as paper towel tube at least. I thought we’d probably have to take a chainsaw to it. Tonight after we re-potted our plants in spacious pots I looked at that tree-bush with annoyance.

We were making our front porch look so much better and it just stood there sneering. So I went after it with my bare hands and snapped off little twig after twig to stick until I got down to the good-sized branches. I looked at it some more and said what the hell if I hurt myself and pulled, cracked, and snapped with all I had. Until all I had was a pretty little shrub again. I showed Luke and said it was the only time for me to garden. He shook his head and called me a “vampire gardener.” I guess if the shoe fits. :[

About solsticekitten

I've got a Bachelor's of Fine Arts in Creative Writing and a lot of free time. I'm the kind of woman who loves Disney movies, because they are what I was raised on. My favorite movie is Peter Pan. I love fairy tales because they always have a happy ending or most of the time a satisfying one. I love with my whole heart. My nose is usually stuck in a book. The characters become so real, I cry with them and laugh.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

